The Sky is Not Falling

The sky is not falling….

Is this how you felt when you woke up this morning? Did you lie in bed and try to think of an excuse not to get up? Did you feel your forehead and check to see if you had a fever? Your tummy is not aching and you haven’t broken out in hives from being allergic to your feather pillow? Hey, it’s okay, this is January and we have the right to have the blues.

Now some of us will not to give in to this old wives tale while others will take advantage of it. Misery loves company but I am afraid that if you are looking for someone to commiserate with you, you’ve come to the wrong place. It is not that I am trying to be downright mean to you as you contend with your blahs. I just don’t feel like wasting a whole month because having the January blues has been a tradition for eons. Someone has got to break this cycle so I volunteer to be the grinch even if you end up hating me.

Oh, we had that big build up waiting for Santa and then the ball dropped in Times Square. We were having so much fun eating, drinking and feeling merry while others were trying to feel Mary.

Now comes January and OUCH!! We can blame the turkey for the extra 10 pounds on our hips or the ham that forced us to eat it. Our credit cards have all reached their max and gone into orbit. So here we sit with an icebag on our brow and make a pledge that this will not happen next next year…. but it does and it does and it does…. This is when we lose hope that things will never change so we slump into that dreaded Seasonal Affective Disorder. Maybe next year Santa will bring us all a sunlamp and an extra large bottle of Vitamin D.

We are our own worst enemies but yet, we can be our own best friends. Humor is the best medicine. You don’t need an Rx number to get a supply of that wonderful drug. You can’t even buy it over the counter. It is within you so PLEASE let it all hang out right here at Mainstream. Anything goes but no profanity… okay, I will allow chit.

This entry was posted in Casey Anthony. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to The Sky is Not Falling

  1. Sherry says:

    Well, if anyone is feeling blue they should play a few games at Slingo. If only we could be like bears and hibernate…I’m tired all of the time in this cold, dark weather. brrrrrrr…..! And my bones ache!

    Is it Spring yet? 😛

  2. Dave Knechel says:

    Sherry, this is not the kind of weather for you to be bare. Cover yourself, for goodness sake!

  3. Sherry~ ~just think, only your bones are aching. You could have a tooth ache, earache, salmonella or the chits. Count your blessings, my friend.

    I have been a member of Slingo for about ten years….my favorite is 5-card Slingo, the bingo/poker game and I must say, I rank up there with the best when I cheat.

    Slingo-Free Game Site

  4. Dave~~wake up, wake up…you are not counting sheep, you are typing in your sleep. You have Sherry confused with Lady Bare Astor who lives at Moscow’s zoo. Do you astral project? You need an international visa for that.

  5. Sherry says:

    Dave~you be a funny, funny guy! :mrgreen:

    Snoopy, I like the slingdoku, I think its called. Addicting. I'm no good at card games, lol! I did get the nickname of "Almost" years ago because I was really good at bluffing people out of their money when playing poker. LOL!

    Yes, I do count my blessings but I must say that I really did want to stay in bed this morning after having been up all night with the pain. Its worse in this cold stuff but I know that staying stationary doesn't improve it much. I'm very glad I don't have the chits! Or any of that other nasty stuff you listed.

    How's our friend doing? I miss her~

  6. Sherry~~I believe Dave was speaking to her in the past couple of days. She seems to want to remain private.

    As far as the pain in the bones and joints, we almost have to force ourselves to keep moving or we will really stiffen up and the pain will be worse. I am allergic to ASA so there goes all the anti-inflammatory drugs that would help me. It’s one day at a time, just like that song.

  7. redrelaxed says:

    Good morning Snoopy and Everyone,

    Top 10 Signs You’re Broke After Christmas

    1. American Express calls and says; “Definitely leave home without it.”
    2. Your idea of a 7 course meal is taking a deep breath outside a restaurant.
    3. You think of a lottery ticket as an investment.
    4. You give blood everyday, just for the orange juice.
    5. You finally clean your house, hoping to find loose change.
    6. McDonalds supplies you with all your kitchen condiments.
    7. Sally Struthers sends you food.
    8. You go back for seconds at communion.
    9. You’ve rolled so many pennies, you’ve formed a psychic bond with Abe Lincoln.
    10. You rob Peter and then you rob Paul.

  8. Red~~omg, where did you find them? They are priceless and I can relate to all of them. I am going to copy that and paste it on Facebook. We all can do with a good laugh. It is sunny here but -9C and and it going up to +7C and rain by Friday. Geez, our weather is like a yoyo.

  9. redrelaxed says:

    I googled funny lists, thought we could all use a chuckle with the winter blues nipping at our heels. We’ve had quite a bit of snow out here on the Westcoast, got warmer some melted, AND now we’re experiencing another cool snap.

    Oh, something I observed this winter, and a little tid bit for ya’ll…is that regular kitty litter makes for a much better skid proof surface on icy walkways than the clumping kind…also a credit card works miracles on the {{{{inside}}}} of a frozen windshield. Any other tips on getting through the long winter will be appreciated.

    Yep, I am officially bushed* (*a common term used and tossed around these parts to describe a nearly insane person) inside my home and don’t care if I venture outside until I spot the first daffodil poking it’s head up in my flowerbeds. (which are completely blanketed in four feet of snow)

    Signed Red ~ From the FROZEN great white north ~ Huggz

  10. Vicky says:

    Howdy snoops – I haven’t had, neither to I plan to have time for the blues. Been too busy spending the kid’s inheritance. We got back home a last night, and it is colder than a well diggers butt. Steve is already planning our next trip. 🙂 I have a photo I need to send you. While sitting pool side, one of your distant cousins landed on the chair next to me and remained there for the better part of an hour, he was quite friendly, and Steve thought I was completely insane when I began talking to him. It really was quite homorous and people around us couldn’t believe how long he stood there looking at me like he knew what I was saying.

    Btw – Did you know that eating two bananas a day can help fend off the blues?

  11. Hey Vicky~~welcome back to the nice cold temps . When was the last time you felt a well diggers butt? BTW, I thought you would recognize me sitting on that chair. I do get around ya know.

    So what did you do, buy some stock in bananas? So potassium is good for the blues. Eat too many of those things and you will turn so blue you wont have to worry about the blues. I will give you a bang on the tin cans one of these evenings and bring you up to snuff on stuff.

  12. Vicky says:

    Sounds like a plan. Looking forward to hearing from you. I’ll dust off my can and make sure there are no knots in the string.
    The Tryptophan, not the potassium. Why the heck do you think monkeys seem so happy? Take away their bananas, and they go ape chit.
    http://factoidz.com/10-health-benefits-of-bananas/

    I personally patted a well diggers butt last fall. 🙂

  13. Vicky~~you are trying to trick me aren’t you? So I eat a banana to get rid of the blues and end up with the chits? I will so busy trotting to the shack out back, I wont have time to get the blues.

    Bananas regulate the bowel system: Are you suffering from constipation? The best solution to constipation is eating a banana a day. This is one of the major health benefits of bananas. Bananas are rich in fiber that helps in regulating the bowel functions.

    Now the benefits in eating dark chocolate….yummy…flavonoids

  14. Vicky, here is the proof… LOL

  15. Vicky says:

    Well I’ll be darn! I guess I should have invited you to lunch instead of sharing a few pieces of bread. Next time I’ll let you borrow my iPad so we can have a two way conversation. 🙂

    Btw -you’re full enough of chit, you can afford to partake of a banana or two!

  16. Vicky says:

    Hey, do you go by Juan when you travel south of the boarder?
    I’m off to bed now. Gotta work in the a.m.

  17. Thanks for the crumbs of bread, Vicky, drool and all. Senor de Gull, not to be confused with any Frenchmen.

  18. When I awoke this morning and looked upon the wall,
    The mosquitoes and the bed bugs were having a game of ball
    The score was two to nothing and the mosquitoes were a head
    Then the bed bugs got a home run and knocked me out of bed.

    Author….Anon

Leave a Reply

