What is your opinion??

deco2
Stein

Apparently the White House referred to Christmas Trees as Holiday Trees for the first time this year, which prompted CBS presenter, Ben Stein, to present this piece which I would like to share with you. The following was written by Ben Stein and recited by him on CBS Sunday Morning Commentary. My confession: I am a Jew, and every single one of my ancestors was Jewish. And it does not bother me even a little bit when people call those beautiful lit up, bejewelled trees, Christmas trees. I don’t feel threatened. I don’t feel discriminated against. That’s what they are, Christmas trees. It doesn’t bother me a bit when people say, ‘Merry Christmas’ to me. I don’t think they are slighting me or getting ready to put me in a ghetto. In fact, I kind of like it. It shows that we are all brothers and sisters celebrating this happy time of year. It doesn’t bother me at all that there is a manger scene on display at a key intersection near my beach house in Malibu. If people want a nativity scene, it’s just as fine with me as is the Menorah a few hundred yards away. I don’t like getting pushed around for being a Jew, and I don’t think Christians like getting pushed around for being Christians. I think people who believe in God are sick and tired of getting pushed around, period. I have no idea where the concept came from, that America is an explicitly atheist country. I can’t find it in the Constitution and I don’t like it being shoved down my throat. Or maybe I can put it another way: where did the idea come from that we should worship celebrities and we aren’t allowed to worship God? I guess that’s a sign that I’m getting old, too. But there are a lot of us who are wondering where these celebrities came from and where the America we knew went to. In light of the many jokes we send to one another for a laugh, this is a little different: This is not intended to be a joke; it’s not funny, it’s intended to get you thinking. Billy Graham’s daughter was interviewed on the Early Show and Jane Clayson asked her ‘How could God let something like this happen?’ (regarding Hurricane Katrina). Anne Graham gave an extremely profound and insightful response. She said, ‘I believe God is deeply saddened by this, just as we are, but for years we’ve been telling God to get out of our schools, to get out of our government and to get out of our lives.And being the gentleman He is, I believe He has calmly backed out. How can we expect God to give us His blessing and His protection if we demand He leave us alone?’ In light of recent events… terrorist attacks, school shootings, etc. I think it started when Madeleine Murray O’Hare (she was murdered, her body found a few years ago) complained she didn’t want prayer in our schools, and we said OK. Then someone said you better not read the Bible in school. The Bible says thou shalt not kill; thou shalt not steal, and love your neighbor as yourself. And we said OK. Then Dr. Benjamin Spock said we shouldn’t spank our children when they misbehave, because their little personalities would be warped and we might damage their self-esteem (Dr. Spock’s son committed suicide). We said an expert should know what he’s talking about. And we said okay. Now we’re asking ourselves why our children have no conscience, why they don’t know right from wrong, and why it doesn’t bother them to kill strangers, their classmates, and themselves. Probably, if we think about it long and hard enough, we can figure it out. I think it has a great deal to do with ‘WE REAP WHAT WE SOW.’ Funny how simple it is for people to trash God and then wonder why the world’s going to hell. Funny how we believe what the newspapers say, but question what the Bible says. Funny how you can send ‘jokes’ through e-mail and they spread like wildfire, but when you start sending messages regarding the Lord, people think twice about sharing. Funny how lewd, crude, vulgar and obscene articles pass freely through cyberspace, but public discussion of God is suppressed in the school and workplace. Are you laughing yet? Funny how when you forward this message, you will not send it to many on your address list because you’re not sure what they believe, or what they will think of you for sending it. Funny how we can be more worried about what other people think of us than what God thinks of us. Pass it on if you think it has merit. If not, then just discard it…. no one will know you did. But, if you discard this thought process, don’t sit back and complain about what a bad shape the world is in. My Best Regards, Honestly and respectfully, Ben Stein

This entry was posted in Casey Anthony and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to What is your opinion??

  1. God bless you, Mr Stein!!

  2. Darling says:

    Hello there, I would like to say how sorry I am for not commenting earlier on; I just couldn’t function for the past month and a half. My husband passed in November and I’m very sad and not feeling well at the moment. But I would like to wish everyone a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year. I do celebrate Christmas although I’m a Hindu and I do invite friends and relatives and we all have a wonderful time. This year I’m not doing much for Christmas but friends and relatives would still visit and have a lovely lunch or dinner and a slice of cake and drinks like Sorrel, Peardrax, Cider and Ginger beer. I’m a Trinidadian/Canadian and in Trinidad ALMOST everyone celebrates Christmas and come together; Trinidad and Tobago is a Cosmopolitan Country. Take care everyone and God bless as always.
    I totally agree with Mr. Stein, he’s a brilliant gentleman; God bless him.

  3. Darling~~tender hugs my dear friend. Take lots of time to mourn your husband and cherish the memories of the good times. I became a widow 25 years ago and believe me, the first two years were rough. It was like flying on one wing but thank God for my three daughters who helped to hold me up. The passing of time helps us cope a little better.

    I respect all faiths, even the atheist. I do not like anyone forcing their religion on me as I believe one’s religion, politics and sexual orientation is private. I just wish the government would not tell us what we can think or say.

    Mr Stein said it honestly and I totally agree with him.

    Merry Christmas, Darling and God Bless you.

  4. Tommy's Mom says:

    GM all and Merry Christmas.
    I’m a member of a church that is Bible based and very conservative. We do not celebrate Christmas as a religious holiday because the Book doesn’t tell us to do so. We do however celebrate with friends,gifts,sending of cards and of food lots of good food and goodies. We do not take offense at however others celebrate this holiday.

    On another note, I’m having a hard time right now as my precious fur baby Tommy is near unto death. I will probably need a friend to take him to the vet tomorrow to be put to sleep. He’s way to heavy for me to carry and I really don’t want to be there. I’ll say my goodbye here.
    On Christmas eve of 1993 I had to put my 29 year old,drug addicted son out of my home so having to loss Tommy just adds to my pain.

    I think maybe my Father in heaven sent me Annie,back in August to prepare me for this loss.

  5. Tommy’s Mom~~It looks like you need some tender hugs too. May God give you the strength to get through this difficult time. Our pets are like our own children who give us unconditional love. After my hubby passed, my mom told me to get a dog. I held back but eventually got Brandy, a 9 month old golden cocker spaniel. That darling dog filled a void in my heart and I had someone to care for since two of my girls had left the nest. I had Brandy for 12 years and then she had congestive heart failure. Like you, I had to make a decisions and had to say goodbye….I cried for days. I ended up getting a little green and yellow budgie…Casey lived for 15 years, considered a long life for a parakeet. I hope Annie will help you thru your mourning Tommy. Hugs, my friend.

  6. Vicky says:

    Merry Christmas! I hope those who are struggling find health and peace. And those who are enjoying good health continue to do so.
    As for the topic at hand-
    I am tired of so many people judging what is in the hearts and minds of others. I don’t personally care what President Obama called a tree. I agree that political correctness has arrived at a whole new level of insanity, but to use it as an excuse to attack another during the season of joy is no less annoying than calling a Christmas Tree a Holiday Tree. For Christians, Jesus is the reason for the season. So, in my opinion, we need to ask ourselves how He would want us to handle any given situation. IMO, He would not care what we call a tree as long as it is a symbol of love, charity and giving to one another.

    I also disagree with Anne Graham.. Death is not a punishment. The God I worship does not send hurricanes or any other natural disaster. The world and the universe it is a part of is constantly changing and evolving. Forces of nature just happen to be a part of it. . Evil exists in the world and did so before religion was taken out of the schools.
    As for discussing God, even those of us who believe in Him can’t agree on His plan.
    We are all born to die, some sooner than others. Those of us left behind need not worry about those who have gone before us, we just need to make certain that the time we spend here is time well spent. That includes teaching our children right from wrong. Taking religion out of schools did not keep parents from providing religious instruction or a place to worship. So, why are fewer people practicing formal religion?
    I say keep the old saying in mind, when pointing a finger at others, there are three pointing back at you. Too much rambling. LOL
    That and my finger is tired.
    Thanks for keeping the blog fire burning Snoops..

  7. Atta girl, Vicky. It is good to see you back in true form. lol I love to read your rambling…in fact I kinda missed it.

    Newbie, now it is your turn…

  8. I try not to wear my faith on my sleeve but am not ashamed to say that I have God on speed dial….I needed to be carried many times along the way of this path called life.

    As to Katrina, hurricanes, earthquakes and floods etc….nature has a way of taking care of it’s own… man’s desire for advanced technology interferes with the natural process…for example re the floods…”asphalt”..

    Death…an escape from this crazy world…

    .

  9. Vicky says:

    Amen Snoops!

  10. Geez, Vicky, in all the excitement of seeing a comment from you, I forgot to say….

    MERRY CHRISTMAS to You and Yours!!

  11. Darling says:

    Hi my friend, thank you so much for your kind words. God bless and enjoy the holidays.

  12. Newbie says:

    Good heavens ……there is not much left to say. Vicky made such good points I thought of printing out her statement in total and using her words when the subjects come up in my world.
    My simple thoughts on the subject of what is proper –Christmas tree vs. Holiday tree– is most of the people in our society have lost their every loving minds. We have soooo many things to be thankful for and all this negative chit is ridiculous and a waste of time.

  13. Newbie says:

    Hope everyone had a great Christmas !

  14. Newbie~~if the White House wants to change my Christmas tree to a Holiday tree….I be a thinkin’ that maybe they should change the name of their house to the Transparent House…what do you all think?

    ♪♪♫♫ I’m dreaming of a transparent Christmas…just like the ones I used to know…

  15. Newbie says:

    Now there ya go Snoops, the biggest reason to not change to using “holiday” in place of Christmas. Look at all the music that would have to change. Try singing “holiday” in all the songs instead of Christmas. Then try working in transparent.
    And, referring to the White House, isn’t it named “white” to lull a person into believing it is transparent…..snark snark. Now, that is all I have to say on anything that may indicate I want a conversation relating to politics or our President.

  16. Love to you all – especially to Darling and Tommy’s Mom. TM You’re in my heart and though it hurts real bad know that Tommy had the best life with you as his “mummy”. I know it isn’t much comfort but I share and feel your pain.
    Darling I don’t know you but your post touched me so much that I’m going to include you in my prayers and I’m sending out a healing reiki to both you and Tommy’s Mom.

    Snoops loved the Ben Stein post as well. I believe in a higher power. However, I have big issues with the bible. Still I don’t mind all of the same things that Stein pointed out. Happy Christmas I say to all – however you celebrate. Last week as I was listening to conservative radio talk in my car as I usually do (I like to keep up with what the “other” side is thinking) I couldn’t believe the hypocrisy and criticism they were whining about. Basically, they were feeling ire over people who celebrate Christmas but don’t believe in Jesus or that its all about him…etc…. They actually mocked these celebrators who are not necessarily church goers. But then these people never cease to amaze me with their arrogance and ignorant mentalities….

    . I made many pies these past 2 months more than 10 – and 2 big batches of homemade Irish Cream so I’m tuckered out and will be for a few more weeks. Then its off to Florida for 5 days to my dad’s surprise 90th birthday party family reunion. Oh boy that should be interesting….

  17. Darling says:

    Mystical Pippin, thank you for your kind words and prayer; may the Lord bless you always. I really need all the prayers that everyone is saying for me at this time and thank you Pippin for the Healing Reiki; it was lovely of you and I do appreciate it so very much.
    My heart goes out to Tommy’s Mom as well. I can tell how much she is hurting but the Lord will help in healing us all as he is always there with us; he never leaves us! On the 24th of January I had one of my birds euthanized; an 18 year old white Cockatiel named Fran. She suffered a second stroke and couldn’t swallow anything and I had to make that choice. It was very difficult but I had to do it because I couldn’t see starving until she shall pass. God bless her dear little soul as she now rest in peace. Thanks again Pippin.

  18. You’re very welcome and its very astute of you to call me Pippin. I prefer that because it was a long time ago when I registered and sometimes I think its a pain to write…. Pippin was the name of my baby girl who I had from the time she was 6 weeks old until I put her down at age 15. I also had her two boys until they passed at 13 and 15.

    I name all my pets after characters from books I’ve read and I waited many years (I read the book in 1969) and many cats to use that name because I knew it would be for one really special and she was. I usually take a few days to get to know them before I name them. Pippin was so smart and so human-like. She understood everything I said, she would always be at the top of the stairs waiting for me when I came home from work. she would fetch a little puff ball that sometimes would be lost for up to a year only to one day show up in her mouth. I eventually lost it for good but got another onel. She would grab the ball in her mouth and drop it in front of me when she wanted me to throw it. She would get mad and attack her boys when they started chasing the ball too! She loved to be held like a baby in my arms.She would put her paw on me when she wanted to be held. Loosing 3 cats over a 4 year period took its toll and its been 2 years since the last one but I still haven’t gotten a new pet.

  19. Doh! I forgot to say that it only took me 20 minutes to name Pippin. When I brought her home I opened the cage door to let her out. She immediately ran under the bed. I knew from experience it could be up to 2 weeks before she came out of there (other than eating and potty). So I turned on the tv and sat on the bed. 15 minutes later she came out and climbed up onto the bed. she slowly came up to me then climbed all the way above my left breast – plopped down and curled up in a ball promptly falling asleep. I knew right then and there she was my Pippin.

Leave a Reply

