Hooker, 41 yr old Modesto, CA, teacher has been arrested

James Hooker, 41, was arrested in Modesto, Calif., after police discovered he had an an alleged sexual relationship with a 17-year-old student in 1998. Hooker has been under investigation for his involvement with 18-year-old Jordan Powers, his former business class student, with whom he appeared on national TV programs earlier this year to profess his love.

Hooker was charged with one count of oral copulation with a minor and is in jail, according to a statement from Modesto police. Hooker allegedly befriended the victim while teaching at Enochs High School, and developed a romantic relationship with the student. Hooker then allegedly sexually assaulted the then 17-year-old girl.

Hooker and Powers spoke publicly about their relationship in March, days after Hooker quit his job as a teacher at Enochs in order to move into an apartment with Powers the same day. Hooker left his wife and children, including a 17-year-old daughter who attends Enoch High School, in order to date Powers.

Read more and watch videos here at Source

And….

Christopher James Hooker, the Modesto, Calif., ex-teacher whose romance with a student drew attention from around the world, was arrested Friday after being charged with one count of oral copulation with a minor in an incident that police said happened 14 years ago, the Modesto Bee reported.

The charge stems from a relationship Hooker is accused of having in 1998 with a 17-year-old student at Davis High School in Modesto, where he was teaching at the time, the newspaper said. Hooker was arrested at his home and booked into Stanislaus County Jail, police said.

During the investigation of that case, police said, it was alleged that in 1998 Hooker befriended the 17-year-old student, developed a romantic relationship with her and sexually assaulted her.

Tammie Powers, the student’s mother, told the Bee she believes Hooker pursued her daughter, and she cited recent problems with her daughter’s grades and health. Her daughter had panic attacks, Powers said.

“I believe it was the stress of the lie,” Tammie Powers told the newspaper.

Read more Here

Here is the post that I wrote back in March/12 about James Hooker, teacher, and his love affair with Jordan Powers, a student.

Shame on you Hooker

Prayers and Well Wishes for Kris

This entry was posted in Casey Anthony and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Hooker, 41 yr old Modesto, CA, teacher has been arrested

  1. He appeared in court where a judge set his bail at $50,000 and assigned him a public defender, according to the Modesto Bee.
    Hooker requested that his bail amount be reduced, and the judge set a hearing next Tuesday to consider the matter.

    Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2126366/Teacher-James-Hooker-41-left-family-student-Jordan-Powers-18-sexually-abused-pupil-17-years-ago.html#ixzz1rJBKa9IF

  2. shyloh says:

    Oh my tickle me with a feather and call me thrilled. Well……….. only that he is in jail. Not for his acts he committed! I knew this wasn’t his first rodeo!

  3. Shyloh~~yup, tickle me with a feather too. LOL I got all excited when the alert came in my mailbox that Hooker was arrested. I wonder what his young girl friend thinks of her favorite teach now that she knows that she was not his first. I noticed he does not have that self-satisfied smile on in his mug shot. Tammie, Jordan’s mother must be thrilled. I hope she cracks open a bottle of champagne.

  4. Since Jordan Powers is not a minor, this sounds a bit strange. I also read at another website that Jordan has been reunited with her mother for the time being… I just hope Jordan was practicing birth control. Old Hooker would get her preg to spite Tammie.

    According to Tammie Power’s Facebook page, Jordan has been returned to her mothers custody since the arrest occurred

    http://bazaardaily.com/2012/04/06/former-enochs-high-school-teacher-james-hooker-arrested/

  5. Here is the text of today’s Modesto police press release:

    Modesto Police Detectives arrest a former Enochs High School teacher for sexual abuse of a minor.

    On Friday, April 6th, detectives from the Modesto Police Department’s Special Victims Unit arrested Christopher James Hooker for one count of oral copulation with a minor. This case came to light during the course of a separate investigation involving Hooker.

    Detectives initially began to investigate Hooker after the mother of an Enochs High School student reported an alleged inappropriate relationship between her 18-year-old daughter, who was a student at Enochs High School, and Hooker, who was a teacher at Enochs High School.

    During the course of this investigation, detectives discovered a separate victim who was involved in a prior romantic relationship with Hooker when she was a 17-year-old high school student. This incident occurred in 1998 when Hooker was a teacher at Davis High School in Modesto. It was alleged, Hooker befriended the victim, and developed a romantic relationship with the minor. During which time, Hooker sexually assaulted the then 17-year-old victim.

    Investigators obtained evidence, which corroborates the victim’s allegations and detectives were able to obtain an arrest warrant for Hooker.

    Detectives arrested Hooker at his Modesto home and booked him into the Stanislaus County Jail for one count of oral copulation with a minor. The initial investigation against Hooker remains open.

    Read more here: http://blogs.sacbee.com/crime/archives/2012/04/modesto-police-arrest-ex-teacher-allege-sex-abuse-of-student.html#storylink=cpy

  6. Today, the Bee says, Tammie Mullins Powers confirmed on her Facebook page that Hooker was in custody and that she had reunited with her daughter. “I am with my daughter as I post this,” she wrote.

    They then packed Jordan’s belongings and moved out of Hooker’s Modesto apartment. She texted a Bee reporter to say they were flying to an undisclosed location this afternoon.

    http://content.usatoday.com/communities/ondeadline/post/2012/04/ex-calif-teacher-with-teen-lover-accused-of-98-sex-crime/1

  7. James Hooker is a selfish bigotted butthole. Here he is 23 years older than Jordan and has entitled himself into taking advantage of her in trying to keep his own youth. What old man doesn’t like to parade around with a young thing on his arm? Hooker does not know what love is but he sure knows what lust is. If he truly loved Jordan, he would not have tried to rob her of the best years of her life.

    I am so glad that Jordan is finally out of the clutches of this sadistic pervert. I hope he gets sentenced and spends a lot of time with his own dirty conscience. I do not believe there is a statue of limitation when it comes to sexual assault. If that had been the case in CA, Hooker would not have been arrested.

  8. Mom glad to have daughter back after teacher’s arrest……….

    “Shell-shocked and in disbelief” was how Tammie Powers described her 18-year-old daughter’s reaction to seeing her lover and former teacher arrested at their apartment Friday morning.

    Powers said her daughter, Jordan, called her while she was at a doctor’s appointment, a follow-up to surgery the mother had last week.

    Within hours, she helped Jordan move out of the small apartment shared with James Hooker since late February and helped Powers leave for an undisclosed location out of the area.

    Read more here…

    http://www.modbee.com/2012/04/06/2147555/mom-glad-to-have-daughter-back.html

  9. shyloh says:

    Aweee Poor man. Now he’ll most likely have to register as a “sex offender” A large price to have to pay for being in “LOVE” with the wrong age.
    I hope Jordan gets past this. She still has a wonderful life ahead of her. Hope she treats this as a lesson learned and becomes all she can be. Thanks dear for keeping us up to date on this one. And congrats to mom who never gave up!!!!

  10. shyloh says:

    I would so love to hear from his “wife” and children. This must be another shock to them. What a selfish bastar$.

  11. Shyloh~~Hooker has ruined a lot of lives. I wonder if Jordan will fess up now and tell the truth about how old she was when Hooker had sex with her for the first time. I have a feeling her mother may convince her to do that.

  12. shyloh says:

    Yup, I have a feeling she just may do that and he deserves it. I am thankful it didn’t take years to find out what kind of man he really is. One thing, I pray she reflects on what his wife and children are going through.. It’s terrible all around. I feel sad for her. But I am glad she found out.

  13. cali patti says:

    Yes nice to read Jordan finally saw the light and left the pervert. Huffington Post also had an article that said she was upset she had lost all her friends and her senior year that would have been fun. My, my, If I recall correctly isnt that what her Mom warned her about?

  14. Cali~~ thanks. Here is the link to the Huffington Post. There is a video and write up. Hooker had the audacity to call Jordan from jail. I understand he made bail so now can go home to his empty bed in the apartment that I would call a ‘perverts love nest.’ I hope he has to register as a sex offender. If found guilty, I am not sure what sentence he will get. Now let’s see if he goes on tv and whines that this is all a big mistake.

    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/04/07/calif-teen-breaks-up-with_0_n_1410182.html

  15. Hooker was married with a family in 1998 and he was meeting young girls on line. Here is the excuse he gave Jordan…

    “He told me that he met her online and he hung out with her just as friends and then he went to her house and she came out of the bathroom naked and he only touched her boobs and her legs,” Powers said. “He was freaked out so he left and went home. He said nothing else happened, but all of that was a lie.”

    Powers maintains that nothing happened between her and Hooker until her 18th birthday.

    Jordan said she thinks the woman came forward now to help her understand the truth about Hooker.

    “My heart dropped. I felt betrayed. I just have a gut feeling there are other girls,” Powers said.

    Be sure and scroll down and listen to Jordan on the video…

    http://www.blippitt.com/jordan-powers-breaks-up-with-ex-teacher-james-hooker-after-arrest-video/

  16. shyloh says:

    Like I said before. This is a lesson. And she is learning it at a very young age. It’s sad, but it’s part of life. At her age this certainly isn’t going to be her FIRST LOVE or her LAST LOVE but once she gets a handle on getting to REALLY KNOW SOMEONE, she’ll be better prepared. I just wish everyone thought like me hahaha!!!! I tell my children. I have been in this world a lot longer then you, I just might know a bit more about relationships then you. So learn from it. Move on and do better, talk less and listen more.

  17. Shyloh~~I remember my first love. I used to spend a month in the summer visiting my older brother and his wife in another town. I think that I was around 10 and he was their paper boy. His name was Arnie and you can be sure that I was waiting and watching for him every afternoon when he came riding up on his bike to throw the paper in the drive way. My little heart would almost be beating out of my chest. Arnie never knew about my secret crush on him but that didn’t matter. Arnie was covered in freckles and maybe that is what attracted me to him. I love freckles. My girlfriend and I used to go swimming at a dam by the railway station and low and behold, one day we went and there was Arnie in a pair of boxer swimming trunks. I got to see his bare body and tiny bulging muscles along with thousands of freckles. While we were swimming, Arnie swam underwater and his hand touched my ankle. That was a thrill of a lifetime and I knew I was destined to marry him. I think the touch scared the living daylights out of Arnie because it wasn’t wasn’t long before he was out of the water and heading home. The next time Arnie came to deliver the paper, he smiled at me. Oh God, I was so in love.

    Sadly my summer visit came to an end and it was time to go home and leave my Arnie behind. By the following summer, there had been Jimmy, Roger and Arnie was just a memory. Thank goodness as there was a new paper boy on the scene and he didn’t interest me at all.

  18. shyloh says:

    Dang Snoopy I was waiting to hear you married that sweet freckled face boy! I am soooooooooo disappointed you didn’t ever see him again. But yes, there were many afterwards. I will never forget my “FIRST LOVE” Name and all. Michael Wilson, and to think I egged his car on Halloween night and he hated me every since hahaha. UGH! I was a naughty little girl growing up. Wish I could of taken all that back. But life goes on.

  19. shyloh says:

    LIFE, LIFE not live… Maybe it was my typos he hated. Don’t blame him. I hate them too. Sad word press doesn’t give us an edit button.

    I am your automatic edit button~S

  20. Shyloh~ ~ strange how we remember our first love so vividly. It is known as the awakening. We see them as the opposite sex for the first time. Between Arnie and the man I eventually married, my love life was like a bloody yo yo….Tom, Dick and Harry. I might have gone through all the letters of the alphabet except for the darn ‘Q’ and ‘X’. I hope you know I am just kidding. LOL

  21. I generally don’t post links to this site but we need a good laugh….and there is truth in this write up…

    You see, 41-year-old James Hooker, the teacher in question, has a history of diddling girls he has no business diddling. In fact, he was just arrested on Friday for allegedly engaging in oral sex with a 17-year-old student, 14 years ago. The kicker is that 18-year-old Jordan Powers says she “feels betrayed” and immediately ended her relationship with the man when he called her from jail.

    Jordan spoke to the media with a sob story full of “pity me” and other nonsense that she really should have seen coming. On what planet is it normal for a 41-year-old man to leave his wife and children for his student, whom he had romantic interest in since before she was even 18? Does she think she’s Courtney Stodden or something? Is she so brain-dead that she figured the abandoned wife and kids of a 41-year-old man didn’t matter in her little world of playing “house” with grownups?

    Furthermore, why is this little twit so shocked that this happened? Also, she’s treating it as though he cheated on her. Well, this happened 14 years ago when she was only four years old. Maybe she finally wrapped her empty little head around the math and realized that he was messing with teenage girls before she was even old enough to wipe herself properly.

    Read the entire article here…

    http://news.gather.com/viewArticle.action?articleId=281474981248482

  22. shyloh says:

    I so agree with this article. I just didn’t want to come across that harsh haha! You know, if people would stop and think about crap, look at the long haul instead of rushing into something none of them would of been embarrassed. But noooooooooooooo. Let’s show are love to the entire world, I am young, dumb, in love with a 41 year old man with children my age and he’s got a wife. He left them for me how cool is that. Now she’s “CRUSHED?” “Surprise, surprise!!!!

  23. Shyloh~~While Jordan and her teach were out flaunting their new found love on the media, it did not cross their minds that Mrs Hooker and her children had to pack up and leave town. Hooker’s 17 year old daughter had to change schools. All the two of them could think about was themselves. How selfish and so it has come back to bite the both of them.

    If Hooker has been charged with oral copulation with a young girl in 1998, his own daughter would have been just 3 years old. I am not sure of the other ages of his children. Hooker was meeting young girls on line way back then and has been cheating on his wife all along. This goes to show that he is a pedofile. I don’t think that Jordan will fess up that Hooker had sex with her before the age of 18 because it will show that she was lying in all those interviews. Jordan was complaining that she had lost so much because of Hooker. I wonder when she lost her virginity??

  24. MODESTO — Former Enochs High School teacher James Hooker goes to court Tuesday for a pretrial hearing, which Stanislaus County District Attorney Birgit Fladager said will be short and procedural.

    A crowded courtroom is expected in any case. National media flocked back to Modesto since the Friday arrest of Hooker, the 41-year-old man who abandoned his family and quit his job to pursue romance with 18-year-old student Jordan Powers.

    Hooker faces a charge of sexual misconduct with a different teenager 14 years ago. After his arrest, Powers left the area and announced that they were through.

    Hooker posted a $50,000 bond early Saturday and spent his weekend dodging camera crews and, according to Powers’ mother, trying to win Jordan back.

    Tammie Powers posted on her Facebook page that Hooker “has been relentless in contacting and talking to Jordan, as well as inflicting stress on all of my children.” The post ends with a direct plea to Hooker: “James, you have primarily dealt with the very, very, sick version of Jordan’s mother — I am getting stronger daily — do you hear me? Leave this kid and this family alone!”

    Tammie Powers said Monday that Hooker phoned her daughter, asking her to post his bail Friday, even as she was packing to leave the apartment they shared for less than two months.

    Read more here….

    http://www.modbee.com/2012/04/09/2150687/ex-enochs-teacher-james-hooker.html

  25. What I Want to Tell Jordan Powers

    This is quite an interesting article written by a woman who was also taken in and ‘groomed’ by an older man.

    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/daleen-berry/what-i-want-to-tell-jorda_b_1410024.html

  26. cali patti says:

    I talked to my friend in Modesto and she said there is no one is on the teachers side. She also said the town is sick of this case and of James Hooker. Mostly people talk of James Hookers family and how rough it has been on them. She also said that people that know the family and those that don’t have really put themselves out there to protect the Hooker family from the media news crews.

  27. margaret says:

    just something so so true of today ………… http://anakerie.blogspot.com/ …………. Hooker needs to remember this

  28. Margaret~~whoever wrote that had a great deal of Common Sense. I posted it on my Facebook page and it is worth repeating here. Thank you so much!

    A Sad Obituary

    Today we mourn the passing of a beloved old friend, Common Sense, who has been with us for many years. No one knows for sure how old he was, since his birth records were long ago lost in bureaucratic red tape. He will be remembered as having cultivated such valuable lessons as:

    – Knowing when to come in out of the rain;
    – Why the early bird gets the worm;
    – Life isn’t always fair;
    – and maybe it was my fault.

    Common Sense lived by simple, sound financial policies (don’t spend more than you can earn) and reliable strategies (adults, not children, are in charge).

    His health began to deteriorate rapidly when well-intentioned but overbearing regulations were set in place. Reports of a 6-year-old boy charged with sexual harassment for kissing a classmate; teens suspended from school for using mouthwash after lunch; and a teacher fired for reprimanding an unruly student, only worsened his condition.

    Common Sense lost ground when parents attacked teachers for doing the job that they themselves had failed to do in disciplining their unruly children.

    It declined even further when schools were required to get parental consent to administer sun lotion or an aspirin to a student; but could not inform parents when a student became pregnant and wanted to have an abortion.

    Common Sense lost the will to live as the churches became businesses; and criminals received better treatment than their victims.

    Common Sense took a beating when you couldn’t defend yourself from a burglar in your own home and the burglar could sue you for assault.

    Common Sense was preceded in death, by his parents, Truth and Trust, by his wife, Discretion, by his daughter, Responsibility, and by his son, Reason.

    He is survived by his 4 stepbrothers;

    I Know My Rights
    I Want It Now
    Someone Else Is To Blame
    I’m A Victim

    Not many attended his funeral because so few realized he was gone. If you still remember him, pass this on.

  29. James Hooker appeared in court with his public defense lawyer…. It seems evidence found showed that Hooker had planned to come to Canada with Jordan.

    Judge orders former Modesto teacher to surrender passport

  30. The following is graphic in nature as it spells out what took place between Hooker and the young girl in 1998 as stated in the affidavit…..

    Affidavit gives details of accusation against former teacher James Hooker

  31. cali patti says:

    WTG…That affidavit gives plenty of details that can be verified. This young woman gave such a detailed report of various locations that only a person involved with Hooker would know. I’m GUESSING Hooker lost interest in her because she was aging.

  32. Cali ~~ I agree with you that once the young woman got a bit older, Hooker lost interest. He would probably end up leaving Jordan too after a few years. I am glad that the ‘unknown woman’ told the whole story and had some pictures and an email for evidence. I expect she fell in love with Hooker and feels she owes him a punch in his ???

Leave a Reply

