Rowan Ford has justice-Collings guilty of murder in the first degree

A verdict was just handed down at the trial of Chris Collings. He was found guilty of murder in the first degree after approx 4 hours of deliberation. The penalty phase begins tomorrow morning. Let’s hope he gets the death penalty. Here is a link to the post I put up on March 09/12.

Rowan Ford, tortured raped and murdered

Christopher Collings declared guilty of first-degree murder in death of Rowan Ford

Collings found guilty of first-degree murder

This entry was posted in Casey Anthony and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

53 Responses to Rowan Ford has justice-Collings guilty of murder in the first degree

  1. Vicky says:

    Snoopy, if he gets the DP, he won’t be at risk for random acts of violence or subjected to the urges of his fellow inmates.
    Also, there is discussion in the Missouri legislature to eleminate the DP. So, it is possible that Collings’ life will be spared by the legislature. Kansas is also reviewing the DP.
    Not because the powers that be object to the DP on moral grounds. It’s all about the costs associated with imposing it. If I am not mistaken, Kansas hasn’t executed anyone since it was reimplemented. Missouri has executed 40 some odd, and has 40 some odd on death row.

  2. Sherry says:

    Yes! I’m hoping Spears gets the same verdict and I hope they both get the DP. I’d have no problem poking the needle in these sickos’ arms, if given the honor.

    Sherry, I will hold him down. Use a big blunt needle and plunge hard~~SS

  3. Vicky says:

    Howdy Sherry, I think Snoopy might strap him down for you. 🙂
    I will keep track of the Spears trial date. However, I’m not thinking he will want a Platte County jury.

  4. I just read the following and didn’t bother to copy the link…. Now it is November….I heard August and then October…

    Ford’s stepfather, David Spears, is also facing first-degree murder charges connected to the little girl’s death. He is scheduled to stand trial in November in Pulaski County where the case was moved on a change of venue.

  5. I also read that they would be holding a mini trial before sentencing of Collings tomorrow.

  6. Vicky says:

    Yep Snoopy, That is when the jury and the rest of us will hear all about the sad story of the rapist/murderer’s life and that his life should be spared because of it.

  7. Vicky~ ~ what do you know about Pulaski County?

  8. Dave Knechel says:

    He’s going to get his comeuppance. Serves the b*stard right.

  9. Vicky says:

    A little FYI regarding the bill/debates in Missouri regarding the DP.
    http://www.columbiatribune.com/news/2012/mar/01/bill-calls-for-audit-of-death-penalty-costs/?webapp

  10. Vicky says:

    Not a darn thing Snoopy. It is east of the Lake of the Ozarks. Between there and Saint Lewis. Fort Leonard Wood is located in that county. There is a university not too far away. It is not the most affluent county in Missouri. Other than that. I am clueless.

  11. Welcome to all the people from Missouri who venture in here to read!!

  12. Vicky~~I just checked out the info re doing away with the death penalty. There is quite a difference in the costs of housing an inmate for life rather than putting them to death. Actually death is the easy way out. I would prefer that to sitting in jail for the rest of my life or I should say trying to stay alive within the walls.

    In the case of Collings, if he receives the death penalty, there is an automatic appeal that can he filed within 60 days ( at least that’s what it was in Florida) and I expect it to be the same in Missouri. It is too bad that all the states didn’t have the same laws. Here in Canada, the no death penalty is across the board for all provinces.

  13. Dave~~we have one down and another b*stard to go, David Spears, the stepfather of Rowan. He was Colleen (Munsen) Spears’ toy boy husband and age 25 when Rowan was raped and murdered. She was 42. She worked, He didn’t. He confessed to the crime too. Collings and Spears had almost the exact stories with the exception that Spears said he went to Collings’ place and found him raping Rowan and he joined in. Spears said he borrowed his mother’s car and disposed of the remains. Collings said that he put Rowan in the back of his truck and then drove to a sink hole and dumped her lifeless body. So you see how complicated this case is. Reminds you of Haleigh Cummings and the Croslins etc. At least we have one found guilty and I hope we will make it two come November.

  14. Hilde says:

    it’s good to see Justice did work for Rowan in this Case!
    That Scum deserves the DP. The other Monster David Spears deserves the same!
    I believe they should die the same Way they tortured and raped Rowan, make it a slow and grueling Death, just dreaming on my Part. Those Monsters need to be get arid of permantly, they have no Right to breath the same Air as the rest of us, the same goes for All those Monsters, male or female who torture and kill innocent Children!

  15. Hi Hilde~~it looks like the state has rested in the guilt phase and now they are taking an hour’s break for lunch. When they come back they will put witnesses up in defense of Collings and why he does not deserve the death penalty.

  16. Hilde says:

    yes snoopy, we know how that works. They all have a Right to a Defense, doesn’t matter how bad the Crime they are accused of. Let’s just think positive and believe that that Monster will get what he deserves one Way or another. I do believe he will even if he doesn’t get the DP. Prison for some one like him might be the DP and will therefore save the State Money.

  17. Vicky says:

    Snoopy, I read the “tweets” from the link above. I feel so sorry for Rowan’s sister. I have such mixed feelings about Colleen. No mother, however neglectful she is deserves to lose her child to a monster. Sadly, Coleen missed an opportunity to rid herself and her children of Collings. while she was putting the run to him, she should have realized that Spears was no better. If someone I knew had touched my daughter, I would have caused extreme damage to his testicles as I was kicking his behind to the curb. I would have then turned my attention to my husband, and sent him packing for not realizing that touching a 15 year old’s breast and behind was a serious offense. What normal adult sees that type of behavior as joking around.
    Not only that, but what parent exposes their children to a “friend” with history of violent behavior and an extensive criminal background? If Coleen wanted to rescue someone or give them a second chance, it should have been a dog or cat from the nearest pound. Not some unemployed lowlife.

  18. cali patti says:

    There seems to be way to many of these case’s. I’m pleased the system worked in Missouri at least in regards to the murder of Rowan Ford.
    One town over from me a young girl went missing on her way to school on Monday, not looking good. A H.S. counselor here this past week or so has numerous sexual type charges against him with a student and a H.S. VP just admitted guilt to sex with an underage stutent. This entire subject is really getting to me.

  19. Hilde~~I don’t want to see that monster ever see the light of day again. Lots of people do not have great childhoods but they grow up to be decent people. I am hoping they find David Spears guilty of first degree too. Colleen, the mother needs a lengthy period of mental therapy. I also hope she never gets married again. I think her biological clock ran out so she cannot have anymore children.

  20. Vicky~~John Goodman took the stand today in his own defense so I watched that. I just finished reading the live blog of the court proceedings today. Parts of it brought tears to my eyes. She did have a few people, teachers included, who brightened her life a bit. When her best friend’s mother gave Rowan a dollar to put in the collection plate at church, that really got the tears flowing. God love little Rowan, what a terrible upbringing she had. It is too late now but I wish her sister had taken Rowan along when she left. I know that would have been too difficult. I am sure that Colleen is mentally challenged. Her past history indicates that she picked losers for her own companionship and had no parenting skills what so ever. She worked at night and slept during the day. There are 24 hours in a day…. the Spear’s household was a pig’s sty!

  21. Cali Patti~~is that the 15 year old girl that never made it to her bus stop and her cell phone was found about a mile from her home? This is just me but I felt her mother didn’t display a lot of emotion when she was on camera. You know me, “everyone is guilty until I prove them innocent.”

  22. Nancy is airing the following… has anyone been following the case of Hailey Dunn, 13 year old cheerleader, Texas?

    Hailey Dunn Missing: Possible Remains Found Near Suspect’s Home

  23. margaret says:

    There is still some justice left. I listened to Billy Dunn about 2 weeks ago on a radio show. She is still living with Sean and defending him all the way. Shame Sad Another child dead because of women and their sleezy boyfriends. This is another child that had no chance Dad was bad as mother…….. The posts above about Dp If they would go ahead and carry it out instead of coddling them for 20 to 30 years, it might not be so expensive. I say 2 years is the limit. Todays joke …Caylee daily is reporting ykw is getting baptized…LOL

  24. Margaret~~Re your joke of the day…. Maybe they will hold her head under water until the bubbles stop coming to the surface. They should send all the DP inmates to Texas… they just run the gurneys along on a conveyer belt and yell, “NEXT”…

  25. Vicky says:

    Colleen’s work and sleep schedule is no excuse for living in filth. Besides, from what I understand, Walmart does not work the majority of their employees more than 30 hors a week. It saves them money by not having to provide full time benefits. So, Coleen would have had three days off per week, not only that, the lazy POS she was married to could have pitched in had he not been so busy partying with his friends. Basically, they are your basic run of the mill poor white trash. Rowan was blessed to have had teachers and her little friend’s family to care for and about her. It certainly doesn’t seem that anyone in that house did at the time of her death.

    I will be interested to learn a bit more about Spears and his background. Right now, I can’t find a darn thing about him.

    Part of the expense in defending a DP case, is the attorney fees, expert witness fees, etc. Along with the appeals process. In a case like this, there is little doubt as to guilt. But there have been times when the wrong person has been sentenced to death and/or executed. So, IMO, the legal expenses are a necessary evil. It costs pretty much the same to house an inmate, regardless of how long it takes to exhaust appeals. Basically, it is a matter of whether or not tax payers are willing to pay the extra money associated with the appeals process.

    As for Goodman. I hope the jury doesn’t buy is bull chit story. What an ass he is. He needs a few years behind bars instead of in them.

  26. margaret says:

    There is a video of Bill Shaffer talking to Morgan and Mitnick at WFTV. He says ykw is only using appeals to buy time. How long can you run appeals.? It sounds like they have poured their heart and soul into Zanaida’ s.

  27. Vicky~~I read somewhere in my travels that David Spears was married before and had 2 children.

    Colleen said she worked 40 hours a week and sometimes worked overtime.

  28. Margaret~ ~once you file an appeal, it could be a year or more before it gets reviewed. I will check out that video later…thank you!

  29. Amber from Maryland says:

    Margaret

    Thank you for bringing the Shaeffer video to our attention. I really enjoyed it. Before, I was having some misgivings about the strength of Zenaida’s case from a legal perspective but I always wanted her to win. After hearing what her lawyers had to say to Bill Shaeffer, I would vote in her favor if I were on the jury and had to weigh the evidence that Zenaida’s lawyers presented to Bill Shaeffer. I may be naive but I believed every word Zenaida’s lawyers said which is more than I can say about the words of the felon or her attorneys.

    Snoopy, did the video give you any more faith in the legal strength of Zenaida’s case? We don’t have to vote for Zenaida for a good citizen of the year award but John Morgan established to me at least that she has badly harmed by the felon’s false statements. I was also pleased that one of the relevant false statements is on video for all to see, and particularly whatever jury hears this case. I also found the statements that the apple doesn’t fall far from the tree in reference to the George and Cindy depositions and the descriptions of the felon’s deportment during her deposition to be quite telling. Zenaida will get my vote for a “good citizen of the year” award long before Cindy or the felon will get my vote for a “mother of the year” award.

    http://www.wftv.com/videos/news/conversation-with-john-morgan-keith-mitnik-zenaida/vGYSG/

    I still think that dogs and cats are much nicer than people in general. I have never heard of any dog or cat who was comparably evil to a lot of the people we have been discussing recently. I am becoming more and more anti social.

  30. cali patti says:

    Snoop, Yes that is the same girl I mentioned. it is possible that a person driving around out there looking for work on one of the farms did a snatch & grab. That person will not be found using normal police work. The everyday farm workers it would have been easier to trace through employment records. For the most part, the farm “crews” are ok guys and would not let that happen. Yes I agree the Mom appeared as if something was off, her demeanor was a little strange.

    Amber, i enjoyed reading your comment and agree. The public frenzy that went on back then had to be horrible for her and her children.

  31. margaret says:

    Amber underneath that video was also one of Bill Shaeffer and ykw lawyer. I did not like him at all . He has a big ego, and he is in it for himself. Listen to how he answers Bill on whether he gets paid or not. He wants to put Zanaida down.

  32. Hi folks… the old Snoop has been multi-tasking big time… I watched the closing arguments at Goodman’s trial… they will resume deliberations at 8 am Friday… have been reading the live blog for Collings penalty phase…have been texting back and forth with daughter who just boarded her plane in Chicago en route here… have read Dave’s new post and made a comment…have been listening to all the updates on CNN Prime… Whitney Houston’s toxicology report came in… my phone has been ringing constantly and neighbors dropped in…. that is not counting all the buzzes I am getting on Facebook… I need a tea…. LOL

    Dave put up a great post on Trayvon …..

  33. margaret says:

    Get some rest Snoops!!!! You deserve it ,I’m tired Just reading about your day. I hope you enjoyed every minute of it. Now Scoot Rest…Enjoy your visit with daughter.

  34. Margaret~~I am listeneing to Rev Al Sharpton live… I put up a link to it at Dave’s. I am slowing down now. My daughter does not arrive until midnight. I am eating an orange and just taking it easy.

  35. margaret says:

    These perverts in Rowans life, make me so angry. The attorneys want all of us to forgive them with a pat on the back because they had a bad childhood. I am so sick of that excuse. I had an alcholic for a father,when he chose to be around. Bad childhood? You bet but it made me realize that I never wanted any part of alcohol and there are not many days that I miss talking to my children. They always know where I am if they need me. They can’t bring on any bad acts leading up to this but it is OK to tell the sob stories to defend them or excuse their actions.BS. I hope the mother goes down with them for her actions in taking care of Rowan. How many of us would let our children sleep in a car at night, because her bed was so nasty with roaches and head lice?? I hope the mother chokes on her fake tears.. They all just push my anger over the limit. I wish I could be in charge of their sorry lives after the trial. And just think these nice people get to file appeals for the next 20 years while they are being fed and housed at the expense of taxpayers. Just not right…

  36. margaret says:

    http://www.wftv.com/news/news/disturbing-details-released-case-boy-confined-clos/nLZ3F/ this is so heartbreaking.. I hope that child is able to grow up and confront those people..

  37. Patti says:

    Rowan did not have a good life. Nor did her brothers and sisters. Mom never cared for her children and this is just proof. When Arianne, the older sister, told her mom that Chris was touching her she just told her she was asking for it and that he was just joking. What kind of answer is that!!!

  38. FYI~ ~ jurors are finally deliberating the penalty of Collings.

  39. Margaret~~thanks for that link. So the remains found were those of a male. Hailey’s family will not have closure. I hope there is some way that the remains found can be identified so another family will know what happened to their loved one.

  40. Collings received the death penalty!!

    Read these messages from the bottom to the top…..

    11 (03/23/2012)

    6:29 Katie Barton: Thank you for following live coverage from KY3 and KSPR.

    Friday March 23, 2012 6:29 Katie Barton
    6:28 Katie Barton: This has been Katie Barton reporting live from the Phelps County Courthose in Rolla on the case of State of Missouri v. Christopher Collings.

    Friday March 23, 2012 6:28 Katie Barton
    6:28 Katie Barton: Christopher Collings was sentenced to the death penalty.

    Friday March 23, 2012 6:28 Katie Barton
    6:24 Katie Barton: The judge also publicly thanked the jury.

    Friday March 23, 2012 6:24 Katie Barton
    6:24 Katie Barton: Judge ordered everyone not directly involved in the case to leave the courthouse.

    Friday March 23, 2012 6:24 Katie Barton
    6:23 Katie Barton: Judge: At this time the verdict has been read.

    Friday March 23, 2012 6:23 Katie Barton
    6:22 Katie Barton: Judge is polling the jurors to ensure the verdict read was their verdict.

    Friday March 23, 2012 6:22 Katie Barton
    6:22 Katie Barton: Judge: 3) Rowan Ford was a witness in the rape of Rowan Ford and was killed because of her witness status.

    Friday March 23, 2012 6:22 Katie Barton
    6:21 Katie Barton: Judge: 1) Rowan Ford’s death inolved torture

    Friday March 23, 2012 6:21 Katie Barton
    6:21 Katie Barton: Judge: We have found the following aggrevating circumstances beyond a reasonable doubt:

    Friday March 23, 2012 6:21 Katie Barton
    6:21 Katie Barton: Collings has stood.

    Friday March 23, 2012 6:21 Katie Barton
    6:20 Katie Barton: The attorneys have gone forward to examine the verdict.

    Friday March 23, 2012 6:20 Katie Barton
    6:19 Katie Barton: The jury is being brought in.

    Friday March 23, 2012 6:19 Katie Barton
    6:18 Katie Barton: The jury has reached a verdict.

  41. Amber from Maryland says:

    Speaking of notorious killers, our long term favorite felon appears to have been baptized.

    http://www.inquisitr.com/208508/casey-anthony-being-baptized-looks-forward-to-new-beginning/
    “An insider source this week spoke with RadarOnline.com and announced:
    “Casey has planned to get baptized sometime this month.”
    After being found not guilty last July in the death of her daughter Caylee Anthony she went into hiding, eventually a few YouTube videos surfaced in which she talked about mundane parts of her life while showing off a new haircut, nose ring and a puppy. It was believed at that time that she was staying on the grounds of a Florida church.
    That same source tells Radar:
    “Casey believes that Caylee is with God now and wants to ensure her own salvation so that she’ll see her daughter again someday.”
    Casey revealed in one of her videos that she was “really starting to feel good about a lot of things. It’s about time.” She also noted “I’m really starting to like the way things going and where they’re going.”
    Whether or not she was referring to finding God or other parts of her life isn’t certain but if her baptism is any indication it looks like that was the direction in which she was heading.”

    Don’t rush too fast to take up a collection for a Christening Present!!!

    Will this have any effect on the totally evil look that the felon had in so many newspaper pictures and in choice shots during the trial when the jury was not present?

  42. Amber~~Casey is not the first felon who has turned to God to try and cleanse their soul. It did not help Carla Faye Tucker of Texas. I believe it goes something like this, “Blessed little children who come unto Me.” Anyone who willfully takes the life of a little child will have to answer to a Higher Power one day. I don’t think a person can avoid that by being baptized, especially when they are not being sincere.

  43. Amber from Maryland says:

    Snoopy

    I think you are probably right. I will never understand the Felon. It boggles my mind to think that anyone could duct tape or chloroform a toddler. Before I read Jeff Ashton’s book I kept thinking it had to have been an accident. Now I think it was deliberate. I don’t understand either why any preacher would want to baptize her. When I listenend to what Zenaida’s attorneys had to say in Bill Shaeffer’s video, I got the impression that the Felon is still just as hardened as she was back then. I think it is something like baptizing the devil.

  44. Leslie says:

    Patti….. that makes my blood boil. Her mother was warned by the older sister and she did nothing. Oh I did feel bad for her but no more. Yes I agree she deserves to feel as bad as she does. That is sick. If anyone touched my baby I would turn mamma bear on them not ignore it. That poor baby.

  45. Leslie~~Colleen (Munsen) Spears does not come across as having all her mental factulties. I don’t know what she was like in her earlier years but these latter years, she was not a fit parent and made some very bad mistakes in choosing a much younger husband and a best friend, both rapists and murderers. Animals in the wild treat their young better than little Rowan was treated. It is hard to believe these situations take place in our countries but they do everyday.

  46. Formal sentencing hearing for Rowan Ford killer set for May 11
    The judge’s decision.

    http://rturner229.blogspot.ca/2012/03/formal-sentencing-hearing-for-rowan.html

  47. Leslie says:

    That is awful. I know everyone must see better in hindsight but seriously no one ever thought it odd she showed up hours early for church or how she made every effort to stay away from home? I am in a small town not far from Rowan’s home town. I know how you just get used to creepy weird people in your town, but no one ever thought something bad was happening?

    Colleen looked horrible at the trial. I thought it was just that they had not shown her in years since Rowan was missing, but no I saw pictures from right after Rowan was missing and she has gone downhill horrible. That was why I felt so bad for her before I knew she had warnings. I know if even someone I did not know killed my baby the what ifs would eat me alive, but having my best friend do it. I could not live with myself…

    I have said this a hundred times around here whenever I hear of a boyfriend or family friend killing a child. You have to be careful who you allow around your children. You are the one who is there to protect your child. Some of these women are so desperate for a man they will take any kind of trash instead of making their children their first priority. I am fortunate to be married to a man who is a great husband and father. I am able to stay home and we live comfortable. I know not everyone has a life like this but that is no excuse for allowing trash that beats and molests children to move in.

    I forgot about the judge needing to sign off on it. The general feeling around here is to save us some money and get a rope. Hang him in the town square as a warning to any other sick SOB that ever thinks to rape and murder an innocent baby.

  48. karenmcc says:

    BTW, the DB in Texas is not Hailey Dunn- it’s a male.

  49. Karen C. says:

    Sorry, Snoopy- WP changed me from Karen C. to this karenmcc. I’ve confused ’em somehow…

  50. Karen C~~I don’t what is going on with WordPress. I see you got in as Karen C… and that is great!

  51. FYI~~Marinade Dave attended the rally and posted a great video and write up here….

    The National Rally for Justice on behalf of Trayvon Martin

Leave a Reply

