Woman set Senator on fire

A woman on Tuesday was charged with setting a fire that burned The Senator, one of the world’s oldest cypress trees — and she told authorities she did it because she was wanted light to see the drugs she was doing, investigators said.

Two witnesses identified Sara Barnes, 26, as the person who set the fire, authorities said.

Barnes took photos of the flames with her cellphone and told one of the witnesses that she started it, the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services said.

“She did not call the Fire Department or 911 to report the fire,” said Sterling Ivey, an agriculture-department spokesman.

The tree, which had twigs and branches piled at the base, burned quickly.

Read more here at Source….

Druggie responsible for burning down the Senator

This entry was posted in Casey Anthony and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Woman set Senator on fire

  1. snoopysleuth says:

    Sara may get charged with a third degree felony which could carry a five year prison sentence. Here is the coverage from WFTV and a video.

    http://www.wftv.com/news/news/woman-admits-she-burned-down-senator/nK7cc/

  2. Sherry says:

    Oh dear. Drugs makes a person do some crazy things…

  3. snoopysleuth says:

    Sherry~ ~drugs make a person’s complexion deteriorate. It is not hard to tell the meth users. The Senator was a landmark and loved by the people of Seminole Co and surrounding areas. It was like family… sort of a family tree with a lot of history. Can you imagine if that tree could talk…oh the stories?

  4. snoopysleuth says:

    This is a good thread to add other news of interest….

    Good grief, look at this…. Be sure and see all the faces on the slide show. One old guy must be the 68 yr old but looks ninety.

    SUMTER COUNTY, Fla. — A sex sting in Sumter County netted 23 arrests of men deputies say tried to set up a sexual encounter with a minor over the Internet.
    Sumter County deputies said the sting is part of their STARCOP project, a “proactive, covert operation targeting individuals using the Internet for the purpose of sexually exploiting children,” according to a news release.
    Detectives posed as adults, guardians and minors to communicate with men seeking sex with minors during a weeklong investigation, according to the release.
    The suspects range in age from 19 to 68 years old. They all face Internet solicitation charges.
    In addition to the 23 arrests, officers also seized computers and 12 vehicles.

    http://www.wesh.com/news/30558468/detail.html

  5. Karen C. says:

    Oh, Hon, take a gander at THIS slideshow (also from WESH! Florida, dang!)….

    http://www.wesh.com/slideshow/news/30550897/detail.html

    Daytona Beach crack hos- unreal. I’m trying to imagine the men who would find any of these specimens appealing. Pimp needs a life sentence- period. “Girls” should be forced to stand in front of a mirror if they don’t get into rehab pronto.

    I checked out the Facebook page of the derelict methhead above- sad, sad, sad. Once a really pretty girl, who had had some sort of life. Now she’ll be forever known as the whack who destroyed a national treasure so she could see her disgusting little pipe by the flames with. She was an apparently decent human being not to long ago, either. Ironically, her “philosophy” bit has a quote about the wonders of Nature on it! Wonder which stylist or photographer turned her on to the wonders of this crap?

    How does anyone with one single functioning brain cell not know What Happens with meth and crack, in this day and age? Have we not drawn the line between Point A and Point B clearly enough yet, with stories like this? Do we not yet have a large enough pile of dead bodies to crawl over, burn units shut down for cost overruns, fire department budgets out of control? I am SO disgusted with my fellow human beings at this point! What a bunch of selfish, dopamine-seeking lemmings!

  6. cali patti says:

    OMG……off topic, sort of.
    Any one read “The Giving Tree?”

  7. snoopysleuth says:

    Karen C~~if any man was desperate enough to have sex with those women, he would have to put a bag over their head. They all look like hard core druggies using their bodies to try and support their addictions. It is damn sad what drugs can do to a person… what a waste of human beings who may otherwise have a future and make a contribution to society.

  8. snoopysleuth says:

    Cali~~nope, I have never read that book. I would go out on a limb to protect a tree but that stems from living handy to a forest while growing up. Even the maple trees supplied us with the sap that was made into maple syrup for the pancakes and oh the maple fudge. I don’t think the bald headed Cyprus would give much sap in it’s old age but people did love The Senator.

  9. Karen C. says:

    Couldn’t help thinking the Buccaneer Ho could probably get absorbed nicely into the whole Key West scene… lots of interesting alt culture types there and some twenties to be had.
    Gee, I have gotten cynical, haven’t I?

    Mmmm, maple fudge…. but I’m an old-fashioned maple leaf girl myself! The bigger ones, and not too stale!

  10. cali patti says:

    It is a childrens book, sort of. I’m tired of sad news.

  11. nika says:

    I hope she gets the full five years and then some if they found drugs on her. They had a sting in our area and netted over 20 people and to top it off this was the second one this month. How dumb do you have to be to participate after the first one.

  12. snoopysleuth says:

    nika~~so many people think they have anonymity when they solicit on the internet. The FBI knows how to do a sting. I commend them for a job well done. These people do not think with the head that is above their shoulders. The women need to make money to support their drug addictions. We never know who some people really are when we converse with them. I sure found that out the hard way.

    I believe that LE found drug paraphernalia when they went to Sara Barne’s home and I would not doubt she had a supply of drugs as well. She is only 26 and already her life is wasted. It is sad

  13. Karen C. says:

    Her arrest and a video about the tree:

    http://www.wftv.com/news/news/local/crimeline-tip-leads-arrest-suspect-senator-tree-ar/nK8NB/

    You don’t send pics of the historic tree you’re burning to your druggie buds, Folks. They forward them around, and next thing you know…

    Jeesh, look at her face….

  14. snoopysleuth says:

    Karen C~~lady, I love you! Your comments are so colorful and always make me smile. Have you ever thought of writing comedy?

    So the tipster may get a whole fistful of money…$1000 or a little less, to buy themselves some drugs. LE found Meth in Sara’s apartment…

  15. Karen C. says:

    You know, she had just had a photo shoot only a few months ago. Waste, waste, waste.
    I was in the poetry program, but I was friendly and even edited with some who went on to be comedic writers you would know. Have some projects I haphazardly plug away at- a screenplay (two, actually, but the one on Poe is on hold because of the John Cusack “Raven” flick- too much Poe at present).

    Basically, I’m just at the point where you laugh or cry, and it’s not like any details have to be invented with these horrid people! It’s all there, spectacularly enough, and I’m so familiar with the thought processes involved from my exposure to other person’s little problems- whether former roommates, friends-of-friends, boyfriends, my Hubby’s relapse and his sponsors/sponsees, employees, the stepkids, old co-workers, former bosses and blah, and blah. I sense these issues usually pretty darn quickly now and I know that when something otherwise inexplicable occurs substance abuse is likely behind it.

    And I really do fear that this great country of mine has now produced it’s third generation in a row of people of whom about a fourth are self-destructive, potentially dangerous and completely useless. And the other 3/4s have to keep up with productivity to keep the whole thing from sailing off the tracks under their dead weight.

  16. snoopysleuth says:

    Karen C~~just continue to keep me informed and entertained. You seem to be able to combine the two nicely. I used to belong to an Amateur Writer’s Group but I did not care for assignments and word counts. I wrote mostly comedy and true to life …the judges gave me second prize for one of my stories… I figured they were all nuts as I didn’t even deserve 30th place… I like to be a free spirit and write when the mood strikes me and not have to meet deadlines.

    I think we have to lighten things up on these blogs once in awhile with all the doom and gloom we are bombarded with. I do my best to turn it off when I shut down the monitor and enter the ‘real’ world.. not always easy. I still picture Caylee’s big brown eyes… that little one tore at my heart strings.. I will follow the pending cases coming up but after that, I don’t want to hear her name mentioned unless it is because she was arrested and back in the slammer.

    The Anthony case brought the best and worst out in so many people. I could write a book about the characters, bloggers, commenters alone and not even touch on the trial aspects. By the time I finished with my exposé, it would be a best seller, LOL

Leave a Reply

