Listen Up Young Ones….

I got a great suggestion from one of our readers thus…

Snoopy, how about a post asking your readers to submit what they believe their grandchildren know nothing about. I just found out I have grandchildren that knew nothing about an electric typewriter and when I told them I learned on a manual typewriter they couldn’t believe it. We went from that to the old telephones, radios, tv…..since then I have been thinking about all the things that were common to me as a child that no longer exist and what has replaced them. Just an idea.

This entry was posted in Casey Anthony. Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Listen Up Young Ones….

  1. snoopysleuth says:

    Dear Reader~~thanks for your suggestion. I go back to the days of Marconi and Alexander Graham Bell. I can even relate to Cotton Jenny. If we wanted a new sweater, we would get Papa to shear a sheep and Mama would card and comb and spin the wool on her loom to make the yarn. Granny would click away on her wooden knitting needles and in no time flat, I had a nice warm sweater.

    (Younguns~~don’t believe a word of what I just wrote. I was just funnin’ the Reader)

  2. Techno Grannie says:

    I love this !! younguns sure have it easy today as far as luxuries are concerned, with the culture not so much !!

  3. bobbie2 says:

    “Oldies but Goodies”!!!

  4. cali patti says:

    I recall going to the movies as a big deal. Im not sure if the theater was open during the week but I know the seats were filled Friday, Saturday and Sunday. Every theater had a balcony and the balcony was for the late comers or the teenagers who wanted to do ??? I never knew what they were doing up there but they did it.
    Every movie adventure was a double feature with very people leaving their seats until the break between the two movies. The movie reels had to be changed and we got popcorn. We sat for 4 – 6 hours on a Saturday afternoon.
    I think “HUD” was the first single feature movie that I saw. “Hud” was considered one of those movies that was borderline acceptable to watch. We arrived late, the theater was packed and we had to sit in the balcony. I felt so special up there. LOL
    There was also sm0king permited in the theaters. Later smoking was only allowed in the balcony seats. No one cared or thought it was awful. It was the way life was

  5. Sherry says:

    Oh, movie theaters were the fun thing to do for us kids on the weekends with their afternoon matinees, too. Then, there were the drive-in theaters. What fun as a family to go to the drive-in to watch Herbie, the Love Bug or Jungle Book or Planet of the Apes!
    Playing vinyl albums and eight-tracks… going outside to play and even going to the nearest empty lot to play baseball…

  6. snoopysleuth says:

    We had 2 movies a week. Cali, I remember when those big reels had to be changed and that was our intermission. I loved the drive-ins because we could dress the kids in their pj’s and they generally fell asleep in the back seat before the movies were over. Those were during the week but on weekends when it was a boyfriend or just hubby and I ….what can I say?

    I fell in love with Rory Calhoun, Dana Andrews and yes, even Rock Hudson. Rock broke my heart when he decided to go over to the other side.

    One movie I remember well is Sentimental Journey, in which I cried through the whole show. Two others, The Seven Years Itch and Ben Hur were right up back then.

  7. Newbie says:

    Couple the pleasure of going to the movies to walking to the local drug store where there were booths and a soda fountain. A five cent coke or large coke for a dime, sundae or malt for a quarter. If you were lucky, the boy you had a crush on would be there and he would say hi. Same thing for the movies…the boy you liked may come and sit behind you or even be daring and sit in the seat next to you.
    I remember the coffee pot on the stove and the smell of coffee thru the house. The corning ware electric pot was a big deal when it came out and while it would create a nice smell of coffee, nothing beat the pot on the stove.
    Since I have misplaced my remote for the tv, I am certainly reminded today of the time when there were not remotes.

  8. snoopysleuth says:

    Newbie~~oh the memories when boys were bashful. I remember JimmyM would carry my books when we walked home from school. I can’t recall what we talked about, if anything, during that 15 minute walk. When he got to his home, he would pass me my books and with a little smile say, “wait for me here in the morning and I will carry your books for you.” With a little wave he was off and I would notice a little skip in his gait. Now that was romance aka puppy love. LOL

  9. snoopysleuth says:

    I recall tea in bulk and not tea bags. Here is the best coffee perk and one like we used to have.

  10. snoopysleuth says:

    Here is a stove similar to the one we had in our kitchen when I was growing up. I can still smell the aroma of the homemade bread that came out of the oven. A little tank to the right of the oven was alway full of hot water. We had a special fork which held the bread and toasted it right down over the coals ( with lid of stove removed). Homemade bread toasted with real butter and Mom’s strawberry jam was to die for.

  11. Vicky says:

    Gee, I wish I could add to this conversation, but I am too young to remember all that you guys are sharing. LOL
    Seriously, back in the day, it was black and white TV, we washed dishes by hand, no microwave, air conditioners in a car were a luxury and really bulky, no calculators, no FM radio, not all cars had seat belts, and no battery operated toys.

  12. snoopysleuth says:

    Vicky ~~ cars did not have automatic transmissions and wayyyyyyyyyy back, some coupes even had what they called a rumble seat where the trunk would be today. TV’s had antennas on the roof of the house or rabbit ears. They were all black and white and I remember only having 2 channels in the small town where I grew up.

    Now games were another thing… Kick the Can; The Farmer in the Dell; Hop Scotch; Red Rover; Postoffice where you got to kiss the mailman….woot woot… Snakes and Ladders, Chinese Checkers, Crokinole, Marbles, Checkers…. some of those are still popular today.

  13. estee1240 says:

    My oh my…I do remember the ‘good ole days’ We would get a big block of ice for our refrigerator…and driving to get it was a treat cause we’d stop at the icecream shop and get a ‘black cow’ with a double scoop…A/C was non existant with the exception of really large department stores…Sunday after church we would eat at the nearby cafeteria then walk to the movies…after we would take the rickety rackety trolly home…Saturday morning movies for the kids cost a dime and and we could boo the villans and root for Roy Rogers, Gene Autry, Sky King, and Buck Rogers,,,There were at least a dozen cartoons on Saturday mornings and three on a regular showing…plus we got “the News of the Day”…which was basically a recap of what was going on that week with WWII and lots of shots of our heroic servicemen performing their duties of protecting us and OUR country…I remember seeing Amelia Erhart..what a cutie…Dr Pepper was my soft drink of choice and I still like it today, but it doesn’t taste the same,,,Wendy’s has the best tasting Dr Pepper…I could go on and on…but I won’t…

  14. Newbie says:

    Pick up sticks and roller skates that locked onto your shoes with a skate key to tighten them. Then there was the pound of white margarine that had a orange dye pack to add to it to turn it yellow. You could buy milk from the dairy or processed milk was delivered to your door, set on the porch and the driver picked up your old bottles. Bread was also delivered to your door. No wonder we didn’t need to go to the store that much….lol.

  15. Newbie says:

    Sky King and Buck Rogers I had forgotten about totally as well as the term black cow…lol. Oh and the Lone Rider and Tonto was a must see on TV.

  16. snoopysleuth says:

    Estee~~I loved your comments… booed the villains… they were generally Indians all in war paint. LOL The Lone Ranger and Tonto. Wild Bill Hickock ( Guy Madison) and Gabby Hayes( Andy Divine). Dale Evans and Roy Rogers singing “Happy Trails to You.” The church picnics were a treat in my hometown. They had the best hotdogs and only cost a dime. They would have a fish pond at those picnics. You would pay five cents and have a fishing pole with a line and I think it was a safety pin on the end. Whoever tended the fish pond would hook on your little prize. LOL My favorite pop was Root Beer and I loved the homemade kind. The root beer kit was put out by Hires.

    The memories are sure coming back now.

  17. snoopysleuth says:

    Newbie~~I remember that dang off white margarine and those little packages of coloring. Mom would get one of us to volunteer to mix the stuff until it looked like something edible. It will never replace butter.

    How about Lassie and Timmie? That program brought me to tears so many times. Then there was Rin Tin Tin…. I almost forgot Gentle Ben, the bear. I forget the little boy’s name in those episodes..Anyone?

  18. snoopysleuth says:

    I love the Statler brothers and these should bring back memories….

  19. snoopysleuth says:

    The first naked man I even witnessed was in National Geographic. The native did not wear a loin cloth. I remember the girls at school huddling around to take a look at him during recess. Woot woot…

  20. Sherry says:

    National Geographic? Is that magazine still around? IIRC, it folded up. Okay, grammas, tell your grans allll about the NG magazine! LOL~

  21. Vicky says:

    Sherry – what I remember most about NG is that the boys read it so they could see boobies. 🙂 just kidding, sort of. I had no idea they weren’t publishing it anymore. I do watch NatG on cable.

    Do they still make Jiffy Pop?

    Another thing we used to play was tether ball. I never see tether ball polls anymore.

  22. Sherry says:

    Oh my! I’m sure those were removed from playgrounds along with monkey bars, because they are too dangerous for the kiddies! I live down the street from a school and there’s no sense of fun with the playgrounds anymore. There should be for considering there’s a good few inches of shredded rubber tire mulch under the playsets.
    Kids today have it too cushy-they don’t know what its like to get a skinned knee from a fall on a blacktopped playground.

  23. snoopysleuth says:

    I remember we played softball at noon hour at the Grammar school. It was a boys and girls mixed team. I recall pitching a good strike and the batter hit the ball right fair at my boob. I couldn’t grab where it hurt. I expected to be flat chested on one side for the rest of my life but it bounced back… As I think back, I don’t remember anyone making fun of me. My nickname was Slugger and then my last name. I was a regular tomboy until I was around 13.

  24. snoopysleuth says:

    Does anyone remember the flat irons? They were heated on the wood stove. Mom had 4 of them and everything back in those days had to be ironed. All clothes were dried on a clothesline summer and winter.

  25. Newbie says:

    I missed the flat irons but sure remember having to starch my husband’s clothes, sprinkle them down and then press them with the dry iron….no steam irons at that time. I would still prefer a wringer washer for my sheets and white clothes. Love the smell after they have been on the line to dry. And, absolutely love the smell of bleach which I still use for some of my cleaning and white clothes. In fact I buy white linens and white undies so they can be washed in bleach…lol.

  26. snoopysleuth says:

    Newbie~~I remember ironing all the white shirts with the starched collars. Like you, I started out with a dry iron and then went to steam. I loved those wringer washers and the agitators in those got the clothes clean. I graduated to a Hoover Washer/ Spin Dry and loved it for my girls diapers. They only had disposable diapers when we went on a trip. I used to hang the diapers on the clothesline and they looked like a snowfall in the winter. It was worth it because it made them so nice and soft. I used to put white vinegar in the final rinse. We did not have fabric softener and I swear vinegar does a better job.

  27. nika says:

    We played cops and robbers or cowboys and indians until we dropped. Remember all the boys wearing coon skin caps for Daniel Boone. We also could run through the woods and down the road without fear of kidnapping. Life for children was so much safer.

  28. snoopysleuth says:

    Nika~ ~ times have sure changed. Now you cannot let your children play in their own yards without supervision. I just listened to Simon and Mannie on blog radio about abuse of children in schools etc. Towards the end of the show the phone lines lit up with people making prank calls to try and disrupt the show and some even invaded the chat comment area. It goes to show that the show hit a lot of nerves and they wanted to disrupt the broadcast. Cyberspace is not really safe anymore.

  29. cali patti says:

    One last memory my Mom told me was the Montgomery Wards cataloge being used for toilet paper, childs boosters seats and the boys to look at semi-naked women.

  30. Susan says:

    I remember my mother’s wringer washer with that large agitator. Laundry always dried on a line – attached with wooden clothes pins that were kept in a cotton bag. Rabbit ears on the TV with aluminum foil strips to help reception. 3 channels ONLY of B&W. We made our own butter (we had a cow) and I don’t remember margarine until I was in my teens so I missed the “white” phase. I didn’t drink pasteurized milk until I was in elementary school – although pasteurized milk was commonly available. No AC – in Florida. No vending machines or large glassfront refrigerators – remember choosing a soda from a large “bin” of mixed sodas – sliding the 2 lids back and forth until you found your favorite, then opening it on the big metal opener attached to the front. Blocks of ice in a metal tub – not bags – for summer picnics. You needed an ice pick – can you even find an ice pick any more?

    Susan

  31. snoopysleuth says:

    Hi Susan~~you have to admit that they were the good old days. The soda pop had more fizz back then too. The aluminum foil did help the reception when put on those rabbit ears. I remember people used to use a wire coat hanger because when bent the right way it gave better reception to the tv. Tv reception….oh those rolling sideways pics and the snow on the screen. Look what they show on tv today compared to back then. Ed Sullivan would only show Elvis Presley from the waist up. Now we have ads for very personal things and the language is sometime blue even in Prime time.

  32. Susan says:

    Unfortunately, we just think they were the good ol’ days. Days that Rick Santorum would be glad to bring back. Maybe the pendulum has swing too far, but…. I and my sister had a choice to HAVE a career, not just be a wife/mother/homemaker like our mother. I had a choice about whether I had children and how many, not like my mother who really, really didn’t want a 5th child at 40. (Rythmn was more of cr*pshoot, than a realistic option.) Yes, a lot of things are worse, but just think – many things are better. Blogs and the internet bring people that might never have met together or keep families in touch that are far-flung. I can research things and read opinions from people around the “world’. Yes, some people are still intolerant, but blacks and whites can share water fountains, toliets, and marry each other. (I grew up in the south during segregation and the uphevals of desegregation. The N-word was heard frequently in my circles….)

    Susan

  33. snoopysleuth says:

    Susan~ ~ I really got a smile out of your description of the Rhythm method? I never really thought of it as a crapshoot. LOL My mom had eight kids and still worked out after the kids were able to fend for themselves or had moved out to live on their own. I was fortunate to grow up in the birth control pill era so like you, had a choice. I combined both hubby and 3 kids with a career when my girls were all out of ‘cloth’ diapers. I take pride in saying ‘cloth’….don’t ask me why.

    There is the upside and downside to the past, present and future. The internet can be a God-send but it also can be a downfall. A year ago, I had so many cyber bullies trying to shut me down, I felt I was blogging in a war zone. Then along came the death threats via anonymous emails and phone calls. Thank goodness, I was able to recruit an army of my own. My dung beetles set out and helped to close down eleven bully blogs. LOL

    I guess a lot depends on where a person lives and what they have had to endure or their parents before them. I can understand what you are saying and appreciate your contributions.

  34. SisterBlister says:

    Snoopy, As I recall, I gave you your first pair of dung beetles. They tend to multiply just like rabbits but are much more effective against the riff raff.

    I remember watching Tarzan, My Friend Flicka, Fury, and Charlie Chan in black and white on Saturday mornings, before my Mother made me go outside and ‘play’. My most prized possession was my first Schwinn bicycle.

  35. snoopysleuth says:

    Hello, Sister~~I typed a comment and it flew away… I sure remember Charlie Chan and his number one and two sons. Charlie taught me how to be an armchair detective. How about Bonanza, Ben Cartright, Hoss, Little Joe, and who was the nice looking older one?

    Yes, those dung beetles were the best army and they had plenty to eat with all the doodoo being slung around and mostly it was aimed at me….poor ole Snoop…lol

Leave a Reply

